Christmas Cinema 2012 Roundup

It’s Christmas morning, and if you’re anything like me, you’re not at your computer right now. In fact, I don’t plan to check in at all today, except perhaps late in the evening. And I have no particular plans regarding tomorrow; I’ve got nothing scheduled to post, and might just take the day off. We’ll see. But thanks to the post scheduling function of WordPress, I can put up a roundup of this year’s seasonal selections should anybody happen to drop by to take a look the next day or two.

This year, I had three different Top X lists that were posted for the Christmas season: Christmas Specials, Least Favorite Christmas Tunes, and Favorite Christmas Tunes, the latter by popular demand. And as always there was a Favorite Films selection for the month, this time A Charlie Brown Christmas; I only managed to get that up on Christmas Eve, so if you haven’t seen it, go back and check it out.

Other than those, there were 11 shows selected for Christmas Cinema this year. That may not seem like much out of 25 days in December, especially with several of them being Christmas specials, but it’s still up over last year’s 8. I’ll admit part of the absence of Christmas movies was due to a lack of planning on my part. I was expecting Hulu and ABC Family and the like to give me a hand with some good film choices, and they didn’t really deliver. Hulu apparently thinks Christmas episodes of TV shows are sufficient, and ABC Family threw up a lot of specials I’d seen before, movies that weren’t Christmas specific at all, and a Tori Spelling special. No thanks. I’ll try next year to be a bit more proactive about things. But even so, I think I managed to cover some decent ground. So here’s the roundup and rankings for what I viewed this Christmas season:

5 Gifts
Mister Magoo’s Christmas Carol

4 Gifts
Ernest Saves Christmas
It’s a Wonderful Life
Santa Claus: The Movie

3 Gifts
Eight Crazy Nights
Ice Age: A Mammoth Christmas
A Miser Brothers Christmas
Only You (1992)
Shrek the Halls

2 Gifts
Christmas Vacation 2: Cousin Eddie’s Island Adventure

1 Gift
Santa Claus Conquers the Martians

Looking at the breakdown, it’s pretty clear this was largely a selection of mediocrity. Few things were truly awful, but not much really stood out from the pack either. Still, there are some worthy films to watch in the mix. I can’t complain; I was enjoying myself most of the time, and that’s what matters, right?

In a day or two the decorations will go down and the blog will resume its normal decor. The Christmas posts will maintain the Christmas banner, however. If I’m not posting tomorrow, I’ll be back soon. Until then, Merry Christmas!

About Morgan R. Lewis

Fan of movies and other media
This entry was posted in Admin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment:

